Skip to main content

Residential Life important dates

Fall semester 2019

Elective early arrival ($50 per night): 8 a.m. Sunday, Aug. 25

First-year student move-in: 7 a.m. ,Friday, Aug. 30

Returning student move-in: 8 a.m., Monday, Sept. 2 (Labor Day)

Classes begin: 7 a.m., Tuesday, Sept. 3 

Fall break: Monday, Oct. 21 (halls remain open)

Thanksgiving break: Wednesday, Nov. 27-Sunday, Dec. 1 (halls remain open)

Final exams: Monday-Friday, Dec. 9-13

Halls close at noon Saturday, Dec. 14

Winter break: Saturday, Dec. 14-Sunday Jan. 5 (halls closed)

January term 2020

Halls reopen at noon Sunday, Jan. 5

Classes begin: 7 a.m., Monday, Jan. 6

Classes end: 6 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 28 

January term break: Wednesday, Jan. 29-Tuesday, Feb. 4 (halls remain open for J-term students)

Spring semester 2020

Move-in (for new students and incoming transfer students): noon, Sunday, Feb. 2

Move-in (for continuing students): noon, Tuesday, Feb. 4

Classes begin: 7 a.m., Wednesday, Feb. 5

Hall close at noon Saturday, March 21

Spring break: Saturday, March 21-Sunday, March 29 (halls closed)

Halls reopen at noon Sunday, March 29

Easter recess begins: 6 p.m., Thursday, April 9 (halls remain open)

Easter recess ends/classes resume: Tuesday, April 14

Final exams: Monday-Friday, May 18-22

Halls close at noon Saturday, May 23

Halls close for students participating in commencement activities at noon Monday, May 25