Skip to main content
Emergency Alert

Kaleidoscope class canceled today

Due to inclement weather, all March 25 Kaleidoscope classes have been canceled.

augustana band

Join the Symphonic Band Sesquicentennial Celebration!

Established in 1874 as the Augustana Silver Cornet Band, the Augustana College band program has grown to include two ensembles — the Augustana Symphonic Band and Concert Band.

During the 2024-2025 school year, the band program will mark its 150th anniversary, and you are invited to celebrate with us.

Preliminary plans include a weekend sesquicentennial celebration featuring:

• A celebration concert with a premiere of a commission by American composer Kevin Walczyk 

• Alumni band performance 

• Receptions and dinners

An Augustana Symphonic Band international or national tour, with the potential for alumni to travel on an intersecting tour, is planned.

If you have been a part of the Augustana band history, be a part of strengthening its future. Celebrate with us by giving a gift in honor of the Augustana band’s sesquicentennial.

Make a gift

Proceeds will fund a band program endowment that will support tours, equipment and music. The endowment also will fund the commission by composer Kevin Walczyk.

Augustana is seeking donors to lead this initiative by offering pledges of support. These pledges can be given during a period of up to five years. Giving levels for the celebration include:

Conductor Level: $5,000 and up

Invitation to a reception and dinner before the celebration concert with Kevin Walczyk and Dr. James Lambrecht, conductor of the Augustana Symphonic Band.

Framed and signed cover page of Kevin Walczyk’s commission 

Gold Level: $2,500

Invitation to dress rehearsal, a digital recording of the celebration concert and commemorative Augustana Symphonic Band poster.

Founders Level $1,874

Digital recording of the celebration concert and commemorative Augustana Symphonic Band poster.

Celebration Level: $500

Commemorative Augustana Symphonic Band poster.

Band Sesquicentennial Celebration Planning Committee

Amy Jackson '78
Jerry Johansen '60
Jonathon Kirk '97
Randy Micheletti '98
Becca Rome '00
Bob Wujek '98