Skip to main content

Student Honors Recognition Awards 2020

Student Honors Recognition Awards acknowledge students who have won awards, scholarships and prizes throughout the academic year.

15th Annual Essay Contest Center for the Study of Ethics/Essay Contest

First Place, Carissa Boerboom
“Cambridge Analytica: The Scandal on Data Privacy”

Second Place, Rachel Hecke
“Living with Moral Schizophrenia”

Third Place, Vanessa Iroegbulem
“Disease Mongering: How Sickness Sells” 

Honorable Mention, Brian Duffley
“America’s Out-of-Style Pastime”

Honorable Mention, Hawarit Mohammed
“Healthcare System in Ethiopia”

Arthur E. and Dorothy Dahl Leadership Scholarship

Kaitlyn Watkins

Audre Lorde Writing Prize 

Program Co-Coordinators, Dr. Jennifer Popple and Dr. Umme Al-wazedi

Short Analytical Essay

First Place, Vanessa Iroegbulem 
“Not Queer Enough: How Current Medical School Curriculum is Failing the LGBT+Community”
Professor: Dr. Kiki Kosnick

Second Place, Lalini Shanela Ranaraja
“Give Name to the Nameless So It Can Be Thought”
Professor: Dr. Michelle Wolff

Honorable Mention, Tran Le 
“Homeland, Reimagined in the Woman Warrior”
Professor: Dr. Meg Gillette

Long Analytical Essay 

First Place, Rebecca Garbe
“Far from “Mortal Danger”: The Effects of Intentional Inclusivity in the French Language Classroom”
Professor: Dr. Kiki Kosnick

Second Place, Robert Burke
“The Morphology of Sex: Tracking Change in the Sex Discourse at Augustana College N-1962” 
Professor: Dr. Kiki Kosnick

Honorable Mention, Amber Hanke
“Disrupting the Androcentric Prison System”
Professor: Dr. Jane Simonsen

Personal/Reflective Prose Essay 

First Place, Melody Konrad
“I’m So Lucky to Know You”

Second Place, Moreen Akomea-Ampeh
“Masked Marginalization”

Honorable Mention, Elizabeth Fulkerson
“The Bloody Truth”
Professor: Dr. Rebecca Wee

Eddie Mabry Award on Diversity

Imani Muhummad – “Ode to the Black Body”
Lauren Hall – “Don’t Act So Innocent, A Midwest Lynching Narrative”

Excellence in the Liberal Arts Award 

Molly Bastida
Natalia Czachorowski
Amber Hanke
Jessica Kurkowski
Genesis Li
MacKenzie Peterson
Monica Thompson
Ann Wheeler

Geifman Endowment “Response to the Holocaust” Competition

First Place, T.J. Coleman
“From Leaflets to Tweets: A Rhetorical Analysis of the Propaganda Tools used by the Nazi Party and Donald Trump” 

First Place, Joseph Knapik
“The Problem of Jewish Agency in the Holocaust”

First Place, Kathryn Weber
“The National Socialist and How They Ostracized an Entire Population”

Hasselmo Prize for Academic Pursuit

Georgia Votta

Honor Council Service Recognition

Nadia Ayensah
Madison Baxter
Emily Blicharz
Ehren Braun
Jillian Clifton
Adrienne Fouts
David Nevarez
Alondra Ochoa
Neil O’Shaughnessy
Aly Twilbeck

The Rossing Physics Award

Georgia Votta

SAGA Art and Literary Magazine Awards 

Art Award

Judge’s Choice, Christopher Ferman
“Obsolete Shapes”

Honorable Mention, Ian Murrin
“Emotion Studies in Rage”

Poetry Award

Judge’s Choice, Lalini Shanela Ranaraja
“Fair Exchange, No Robbery”

Honorable Mention, Madeline Young
“In the Graveyards? The Basement?”

Prose Award

Judge’s Choice, Lalina Shanela Ranaraja
“Notes from a Cross-Cultural Summer”

Honorable Mention, Cassandra Karn 
“From the Earth Came my Love”

Barbara Anderson Miller Award for best all-around piece in the magazine

Lalini Shanela Ranaraja, “Fair Exchange, No Robbery”

2020 Texas Medical Center Summer Research Internship Program

Baylor College of Medicine
Camila Davila
Brady Fischer
Vanessa Iroegbulem
Morgan Rottinghaus

Texas Children’s Hospital
Rachel Oliver

MD Anderson Cancer Research Center
Samantha Berggren
DiAngelo Gonzalez
Thao Huynh
Matt MacArthur
Kalli Majewski
Sara Mazrimas
Claire Nguyen
Giang Pham Thi Hong
Tracy Pham
Iva Vucic

Tredway Library Prize for First-Year Research

Laura Keenan, “Looking Beyond Binaries to Avoid Polarization in the Sex Work Debate”

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.