Skip to main content

Multimedia Journalism and Mass Communication course catalog


B.A., Augustana; M.A., Northern Illinois

IAN KIVELIN DAVIS, Visiting Assistant Professor
B.A., Eastern Illinois; Ph.D., Illinois

WENDY HILTON-MORROW, Associate Dean of the College and Professor (Communication Studies)
B.A., Augustana; M.A., Ph.D., Iowa

DAVID SNOWBALL, Professor and Chair (Communication Studies)
B.A., Pittsburgh; M.A., Ph.D. Massachusetts

DAVID A. SCHWARTZ, Assistant Professor
B.A., Iowa; M.S., Northwestern; Ph.D., Iowa

DOUG TSCHOPP, Instructor and Director of Entrepreneurial Development
B.A., St. Ambrose, M.B.A., Iowa

CAROLYN YASCHUR, Assistant Professor
B.A., Gettysburg; M.A., Missouri; Ph.D., Texas

MAJOR IN MULTIMEDIA JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION 30 credits, including one of MJMC-211, MJMC-212; MJMC-213; MJMC-225; MJMC-250; MJMC-251; MJMC-252; MJMC-301; MJMC-322; and either MJMC-451-452, MJMC-455-456 or 3 credits of 300+ hour approved professional internship. At least 2 of any combination of the following three courses: MJMC-220, MJMC-221, MJMC-225; these 1-credit courses may be repeated and taken for credit or non-credit.

MINOR IN MULTIMEDIA JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION 18 credits, including MJMC-213, MJMC-250, MJMC-251, MJMC-252 and MJMC-301; at least 3 credits of MJMC electives at the 300-400 level.

Grade Point Average Notation: All courses listed in the catalog as required courses for any major and/or minor, including those courses outside of the department or with a different subject coding, are considered part of the major and will count in the grade point average. Some departments may have additional grade requirements for the courses offered within their department. Recommended supporting courses that are optional and not required may also count in the major depending on the program. For more information see your department chair or the degree requirements for Bachelor of Arts and information on Majors/Minors.

Courses (MJMC)

Ryan Jenkins

My Augustana Story: Ryan Jenkins

Senior Ryan Jenkins says the one-on-one attention of faculty has made a difference for him. "That's a really unique experience that I wouldn't trade anything in the world for."

CORE Commons in the Olin Center

CORE scores big with graduates

If you’re a current student, graduates urge you to use CORE — our customized network of mentors, resources and experiences focused on your success.

Old Main in spring

Scholarships make the difference

Augustana is more affordable than families might think. Financial aid keeps net costs lower.