Skip to main content

Augustana Percussion Ensemble Concert

The Augustana Percussion Ensemble is a chamber group and performs music specifically written for the percussion ensemble from 1930 to the present, along with various transcriptions and arrangements of music never imagined for percussion.

Concerts present a diverse mix of musical styles — from light to serious to “out there” — and participants play traditional and non-traditional percussion instruments of all kinds.

The ensemble performs two large concerts on campus during the year, one in winter and one in spring. The 2018 spring concert will begin at 2 p.m. April 22 in the same location.

The ensemble is directed by Dr. Tony Oliver.


Rain Dance (1996)     David McIntyre (living)
Camille Harris, Emily Seibel,
Kathryn Weber, percussion

Pulse (1939)     Henry Cowell (1897-1965)
Sean Harty, conductor

Chromatic Foxtrot (1924)     G. H. Green (1893-1970)
Oscar Peterson-Veatch, xylophone

Ragtime Robin (1924)

Live is Different: A moment of conversation and a public service announcement from the members of the Augustana Percussion Ensemble.

Quartet for Paper Bags (1973)     Larry Spivack (living)

Omphalo Centric Lecture (1986)     Nigel Westlake (living)
Sean Harty, Ariane Omerza,
Oscar Peterson-Veatch, Daniel Skelton, marimbas

Bonham (1988)     Christopher Rouse (living)
Daniel Skelton, drum set solo


Ensemble Room

Bergendoff Hall of Fine Arts

3701 7th Ave.
Rock Island, IL 61201
United States

Google Maps




Dr. Tony Oliver

Submit an event

Use this quick form to submit an event to the campus calendar.