Skip to main content

Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame

Every year, Augustana inducts a class of outstanding athletes into the Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame. The athletes must have graduated 10 or more years ago.

This group was the brainchild of former Augustana Director of Athletics Vince Lundeen, and the first class was inducted on Feb. 19, 1977. Lundeen retired following the 1981-82 school year, and with his retirement what was known then as the Hall of Honor was suspended.

It was reinstated in 2002, thanks to athletics co-directors Liesl Kolp ’90 Fowler and Greg Wallace ’88, and with it came a name change as well.

Honorees are inducted into the Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame at a dinner celebration during Homecoming every year.

“Augustana has had numerous student athletes who have excelled on and off the field, and I am grateful that they chose me as one of their representatives,” said three-sport standout Corey Christenson ’97, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2016.

“Reflecting on the night of the induction, I was able to thank many people and coaches," Christenson said. "Every time I tried to talk about Coach Olsen, I became more and more emotional and choked up. His guidance and teachings throughout college and post-college have been used daily in my life, molding my philosophies of teaching and coaching.”

Basketball post player Katy Hulin ’91 Hasson was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2008.

“While this is an individual honor, it would not have happened without many great players who were my teammates,” Hasson said. “Being selected as a member of the Hall of Fame along with so many Viking greats was truly icing on the cake to honor my Augie playing career.”

Currently, the Tribe of Vikings Hall of Fame has 176 members. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.