Augustana College printing logo

Augustana Debate Union

 Meet the Director |  Roster |  Schedule |  History |  Join the ADU |  Like the ADU on Facebook

Welcome to the online home of the Augustana Debate Union!

Members of the 2013-2014 ADU
Members of the 2013-2014 Augustana Debate Union

The Augustana Debate Union is committed to helping its members improve their liberal arts experience in each of the following areas:

- Advocacy - by helping you become a confident and skilled communicator, no matter what public speaking situation you face.

- Critical Thinking - by engaging in intensive debates featuring current events and social issues that affect you in your daily life.

- Research - by encouraging you examine all sides of an issue to develop the most informed and well-reasoned position.

- Time Management - by helping you balance your academic, professional and social life with the demands of being a part of a tradition of excellence.




1957 National Debate Champions
Legendary ADU Director Martin Holcomb with Augustana's First NDT Champions, Norman Lefstein & Phillip Hubbart

With 51 qualifications to the National Debate Tournament (NDT), Viking debaters invite you to join its proud tradition of excellence.

1953 - Top Speaker - National Debate Tournament
Robert L. Anderson

1956 - Top Speaker - National Debate Tournament
Phillip Hubbart

1957 - National Champions - National Debate Tournament
Norman Lefstein & Phillip Hubbart

1976 - Top Speaker - National Debate Tournament
Robert Feldhake



Michael Zach Finals
Michael Clapp (middle) & Zachery Yakey (right) compete against SMU in the Championship Round of the 2013 Blue Devil Debates.

"Like" us on Facebook or Find the Latest News on the ADU here!

ADU advances teams to semifinals, quarterfinals of National Junior Division Debate Tournament

ADU hosts 2014 Viking Debates

ADU's International Duo advances to both final rounds at the Texas Two Step