Skip to main content

Academic Calendar 2019-2020

(Some dates may be subject to change, or to be announced.) Printable PDF 2019-2020 calendar.

Fall Term 2019-20

Deadline for all application materials for Fall term new non-degrees students

SU

4:30 pm Monday , Aug. 19

Classes begin for F71 and 14 week courses

1

7 am Tuesday, Sept. 3

Add/drop deadline for F71 a courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

1

4:30 pm Thursday, Sept 5 (Arches)

Add/drop deadline for 14 week courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

1

4:30 pm Friday, Sept 6 (Arches)

Summer incomplete coursework due to instructors^

3

Wednesday, Sept. 18

Pass/No Credit deadline for F71 courses

(see P/NC policy

3

4:30 pm Friday, Sept 20

(paper form)

Family Weekend

3

Friday-Saturday, Sept 20-21

Deadline to drop F71 courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

4

4:30 pm Wednesday, Sept. 25 

Summer incomplete grades due to the Registrar

4

Wednesday, Sept. 25

Withdrawal deadline for F71 courses

No dropping permitted after this date

5

4:30 pm Friday, October 4

(paper forms)

Homecoming & Alumni Weekend

5

Friday-Saturday, Oct 4-6

Symposium Day (attendance required, alternative day of learning) 

5

Wed. Oct. 9

Registration for J-term FY students

6

Tuesday-Thursday, Oct. 8-10

Pass/No Credit deadline for 14 wk courses

(see P/NC policy

6

4:30 pm Friday, October 11

(paper forms)

Registration for J-term SO, JR, SR students

7

Tuesday-Thursday, Oct. 15-17

Deadline to drop 14 wk courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

7

4:30 pm Friday, October 18

Deadline to submit major declaration forms for spring term registration and advising (SO, JR SR students)

7

4:30 p.m. Friday, October 18

Last day of F71 courses

7

Friday, Oct. 18

Fall break day (no classes, campus offices open) 

8

Monday, Oct. 21

First day of F72 courses

8

Tuesday, Oct. 22

Add/drop deadline for F72 courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

8

4:30 pm Thursday, Oct. 24

(paper forms)

Pass/No Credit deadline for F2 courses

(see P/NC policy

10

4:30 pm Friday, November 8

(paper forms)

Withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses

No dropping permitted after this date

10

4:30 pm Friday, November 8

(paper forms)

Registration for Spring Term SO, JR, SR students

(dates/times assigned)

11

Monday-Friday, Nov. 11-15 (Arches)

Deadline to drop F72 courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

11

4:30 pm Wednesday, Nov. 13

Registration for FY students

12

Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 20-22 (Arches)

Withdrawal deadline for F72 courses

No dropping permitted after this date

12

4:30 pm Friday, Nov. 22

(paper forms)

Open Registration for J-term all students

13

Monday-Tuesday, November 25-26 (Arches)

*Application deadline for Spring part-time non-degree student materials (application, official transcripts, letter of support, etc.) 

13

Monday, Nov. 25

Thanksgiving Break 

13

Wednesday, Nov. 27 - Sunday, Dec. 1

Open registration for Spring term for all students

14-E

Monday-Friday, Dec. 2-13 (Arches)

Deadline for all application materials for Spring term new non-degrees students

14

4:30 pm Friday, Dec. 6

Classes end

14

6 pm Friday, Dec. 6

Exam Week (see policies)

E

Monday-Friday, Dec. 9-13

Deadline to apply for Spring Graduation 2020

E

noon, Friday, December 13

Final Grades due (Go to Arches)

B

noon, Monday, Dec. 16

Graduation date for transcript

B

December 16, 2018

Winter Break (no classes)

B

Saturday, Dec. 14 - Sunday, Jan. 5

College Closed

B

Monday, Dec. 23 -Thursday, January 2

January Term 2019-20

Arches J-term enrollment changes all students

B

Saturday-Wednesday, Jan. 4-8

J-Term classes begin

1

7 am Monday, Jan. 6 (Arches)

Pass/No Credit deadline for J-term courses

(see P/NC policy

1

4:30 pm Wednesday, Jan. 8

(paper forms)

Add/drop deadline for J-term courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

Deadline to reuse J-term credits for the year. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

1

4:30 pm, Wednesday, Jan. 8

(paper forms)

Withdrawal deadline for J-term courses

No dropping permitted after this date

2

4:30 pm Tuesday, January 14

(paper forms)

Fall incomplete coursework due to instructors^

2

Wednesday, Jan. 15

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (events/schedule TBD) 

3

Monday, Jan. 20 

Fall incomplete grades due to Registrar

3

Wednesday, Jan. 22

Classes end

4

6 pm Tuesday Jan. 28

J-term recess begins

4

6 pm Tuesday, Jan. 28

J-term break (no classes, admin. offices open)

B

Wednesday-Tuesday, Jan. 29-Feb. 4

J-Term grades due

B

2:00 pm Thursday, Jan 30

Spring Term 2019-20

Arches Spring term enrollment changes all students

B

Monday-Friday, Feb  3 - 7

Classes begin for S71 and 14 wk courses

1

7 am Wednesday, Feb. 5

Add/drop deadline for S71 courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

1

4:30 pm Friday, Feb. 7 (Arches)

First-year students may declare their academic majors in Office of the Registrar

1

Monday, Feb 5

Add/drop deadline for 14-wk courses

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

2

4:30 pm Monday, Feb. 10 (Arches)

Pass/No Credit deadline for S71 courses

3

4:30 pm Friday, Feb. 21

(paper forms)

Wuesday (classes follow a typical Tuesday schedule) 

4

Wednesday, Feb. 26 (tentative)

J-term incomplete coursework due to instructors^

4

Thursday, Feb. 27

Deadline to drop S71 courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

4

4:30 pm Friday, Feb. 28

Withdrawal deadline for S71 courses

No dropping permitted after this date

5

4:30 pm Friday, Mar. 6

(paper forms)

Pass/No Credit deadline for 14-wk courses

(see P/NC policy

6

4:30 pm Friday, Mar. 13

(paper forms)

Deadline to drop 14 wk courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy) 

7

4:30 pm, Friday, Mar. 20

Deadline to submit major declaration forms for fall term registration and advising

7

4:30 pm, Friday, Mar. 20

Last day of S71 courses

7

Friday. Mar. 20

Spring Break (no classes held, admin. offices open)

B

6 pm Friday, Mar 20 - 7 am Monday, Mar 30

Firsyt day of S72 courses

8

Monday, March 30

Add/drop deadline for S72 course

(W grade appears on transcript for each drop processed after this date)

8

4:30 pm, Wednesday, April 1

(paper forms)

Withdrawal deadline for S72 courses

No dropping permitted after this date

9

4:30 pm Tuesday, April 7

(paper forms)

Easter recess begins

9

6 pm Thursday, April 9

No classes - Campus Closed

9

Friday, April 10

Easter recess ends/classes resume

10

7 am Tuesday, April 14

During Easter Break there are no classes.

B

Offices closed Friday, open Monday.

Pass/No Credit deadline for S72 courses

(see P/NC policy

10

4:30 pm Friday, April 17

(paper forms)

Withdrawal deadline for 14-wk courses

No dropping permitted after this date

10

4:30 pm Friday, April 17

(paper forms)

Registration for Fall and J-term SO, Jr, SR students

(by assigned date/time)

11

Monday-Friday, April 20-24 (Arches)

 

Deadline to drop S72 courses and reuse course credits. Courses that remain on the schedule after this date apply toward overload fees. (see policy)

11

4:30 pm Friday, April 24

Registration for Fall and J-term FY students

(by assigned date/time)

12

Wednesday April 29-Friday May 1 (Arches)

*Application deadline for Summer part-time non-degree student materials (application, official transcripts, letter of support, etc.) 

13

4:30 pm Monday, May 4

Celebration of Learning 

13

Wednesday, May 6 (tentative) 

Open Arches Registration for Fall Term and J-term all students

14-E

Monday-Friday, May 11-22

Last day of S72 courses

14

Friday, May 15

Classes end

14

6 pm Friday, May 15

Deadline to apply for Fall term graduation

14

noon, Friday, May 15

Exam Week (see policies)

E

Monday-Friday, May 18-22

Baccalaureate service

SU

10 am Sunday, May 24

Commencement Ceremony

SU

2 pm Saturday, May 23

Memorial Day (college closed)

SU

Monday, May 25

Final Grades due

SU

Noon, Tuesday, May 26

Graduation date from transcript

SU

May 26, 2020

Key: 

^ Some faculty may require an earlier deadline for incomplete coursework. Extensions beyond the published deadline are only granted under rare circumstances and through prior petition by the Committee on Advanced Standing and Degrees. Forms available online and in Founders Hall.

*Non-degree students must have all materials submitted for application by above deadlines (application, high school or college transcript, etc.) Registration takes place on-campus and in-person by appointment only.

F71 = Fall term first seven week courses

F72 = Fall term second seven week courses

S71 = Spring term first seven week courses

S72 = Spring second seven week courses

B = Break Week

   (some days of break there are no classes but offices are open, others the campus is closed) 

E = Exam Week

SU = Summer Break

Wuesday = classes follow a typical Tuesday schedule on a Wednesday

 

Summer 2020

Start of the term (travel courses): Monday, June 1

Start of on campus classes: Monday, June 1

Spring incomplete coursework due to instructors: Thursday, June 25^

End of on campus classes: Friday, June 26

On campus experiences grades due: Monday, June 29

Spring incomplete grade due to Registrar: Thursday, July 2

Independence Day Observed: Friday, July 3 (college closed, no classes)

Deadline to post summer grades: noon, Friday August 14 

Deadline for part time non-degree Fall application materials: Friday, August 14* 

End of term (travel courses): Friday, August 14

Graduation date for transcript: Monday, August 17

Labor Day: Monday, September 2 (college closed) 

updated by L. Fowler 11-1-18
Faculty & Board adopted 11-21-17