Skip to main content

Devin Oliva-Farrell is the 2018 winner of the Tredway Library Prize

Thomas Tredway Library is pleased to announce Devin Oliva-Farrell as the winner of the 2018 Tredway Library Prize for First Year Research for zir paper, ‘Asexuality: To Include or Not to Include a Slice of “Cake” in the LGBTQ+ Community.’ Devin wrote the paper for Dr. Kiki Kosnick’s FYI 103 class, ‘Queer Life Stories.’ This year’s judges were María Emerson, Connie Ghinazzi, and Farah Marklevits.

The judges were impressed with Devin’s ability to clearly bring to the forefront an important and current issue that currently lacks an extensive amount of research. Ze recognized the importance of articulating the background and appropriate language for the discussion of asexuality so that all readers are able to have a clear understanding of the arguments being made. Devin explains in zir personal reflection on the research process:

…Some of the scholarly and popular sources I read misused certain terms or used terms that are often conflated with other words (such as sex and gender). The word choices used in these articles could then lead to misconceptions or other issues.

...I also wanted to include in my paper both personal accounts as to why asexuality should or should not be included in the community as well as data to support these claims.

The judges were also impressed with the discovery and evaluation of a variety of sources that were used to help Devin take a strong position on the issue. It was clear that Devin thought deeply about what ze found, and was not afraid to challenge these sources instead of accepting them at face value. In addition to this, zir paper was able to take a topic that many people have misconceptions and confusion about, and was able to clarify it in a thoughtful and concise way. 

As with past winning papers, Devin was given the chance to make small edits of minor errors the judges noticed. Zir paper will be added to Augustana Digital Commons soon, so make sure to keep an eye out for it!

A short program and reception honoring Devin is planned for Wednesday, Oct. 3 at 4 p.m. at the south end of 2nd floor of Tredway Library. Light refreshments will be served.

Past Winners - Click on a winner's name to read their paper:
Jack Harris
Rob Williams (2016)
Ninna Mendoza (2015)
Aaron Volk (2013)
Natali Bode (2012)
Maureen Zach (2011)
Scott Fick (2010)

Share your news

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.