Augustana College printing logo

Google Sites - Site Permissions

If you followed the sharing directions on the Create a New Site page, your Google Site should only be visible only to you. You can modify these settings at any time.

Why Change Site Permissions?

As a general rule, ITS strongly suggests that you keep your permissions set to private and only grant access to the site to specific individuals. There are two reasons for this:

  1. Many of the sites that are created on Google Sites with an Augustana username are likely to include personal work (i.e. ePortfolios). 
  2. Granting individual access makes you more conscious of who is able to view the material that you post on your site.

However, we do recognize that there are times when it is more appropriate to open up access to your site -- and there are levels of security that you can set according to how much access you want to give. In the end, you are responsible for the content that you post and the settings that you choose.

How to Change Permissions:

  1. Click on the More actions button
  2. Go to Site Permissions
  3. Click on the Change link directly under the Permissions section
  4. Choose the appropriate visibility option for your needs (For more info, see What are the Visability Options? below)
  5. Click Save
  6. Type in email addresses of the individuals that you want to grant access to your site
  7. Change the individuals' roles according to how much access you want them to have (for more info, see Grant Access to Users below)
  8. Click Share

What are the Visability Options?

(return to How to Change Permissions)

Public on the web - Anyone on the internet can find and access your website without signing into any Gmail account.

Anyone with a link - Anyone who has the link can access your website without signing into any Gmail account.

Note: If you choose this option, you can find the link at the top of the previous window. To share the site, copy the link and share it with those you want to have access. Keep in mind, they - and anyone that they share the link with - can access the site as long as the permissions are set this way and they have the link.

Augustana College - People who are signed into their Augustana email account can access your site.

People at Augustana College with the link - People who are signed into their Augustana email account and have the link can access the account.

Note: If you choose this option, you can find the link at the top of the previous window. To share the site, copy the link and share it with those you want to have access. Keep in mind, they - and anyone that they share the link with who has an Augustana email account - can access the site as long as the permissions are set this way and they have the link.

Private - Only people explicitly granted permission can access the site. They must be signed into the account that you specify when you grant them access.

Note: This is the setting that Augustana ITS suggests that Sites users choose.

(return to How to Change Permissions)

How to Grant Access to Users (Viewers, Editors, and Owners):

(return to How to Change Permissions)

The following information is paraphrased from Google Sites Help's Overview of Sharing:

When individual access is granted to a Google Site, users can be designated as Viewers, Editors, or Owners. Each designation has specific rights granted to them. Use these different levels of access to specify how individuals can view and interact with your site.

Viewers - Can view the Google Site. They cannot make any edits.

Editors - Can create, edit, delete, and move pages. They are also allowed to add attachments and comments as well as subscribe to the site and page changes.

Owners - Can do anything that Viewers and Editors can do. They can also set other people as Viewers, Editors, and Owners in the Site Permissions. They are able to change the site themes, layout, and site name. Finally, they have permission to delete the site.

Note: It is important to consider all of the rights that are given at each level before you assign that role to an individual. Make sure that they are able to do everything that you need them to do, but do not give them too much access unless you trust them. You do not want to end up allowing someone to accidentally (or on purpose) delete your site without your knowledge.

(return to How to Change Permissions)