Preserve Old Main
Old Main, the enduring symbol of Augustana's commitment to the liberal arts, was built in 1889. The college and seminary had recently moved from Paxton, Illinois, to almost 19 acres of pastureland in Rock Island. With its towering dome providing a notable landmark, Old Main staked a claim for Augustana among early Midwestern institutions of higher education.
Today we recognize the need to preserve Old Main and reinforce the synergy at the heart of campus, where the dome crowns the academic center. Renovations to the exterior and dome began in early June 2010, the mid-point of Augustana's sesquicentennial year, and mark another important stage in the history of our college. We are taking steps to preserve Old Main, the one building that links every living Augustana graduate.