Augustana College printing logo

Augustana Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Dr. Daniel Culver

M, TH 7:30-9:30pm

The Augustana Symphony Orchestra, a full-size orchestra of approximately 85 members, has an active and diverse performing schedule throughout the year.  The orchestra typically presents three major concerts each year, performing works form Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, to Debussy, Stravinsky, Mahler and Larsen.  Over a four-year undergraduate tenure, a member of the Augustana Orchestra will have been exposed to a wide variety of literature.

In addition to these concerts, the orchestra collaborates with the Handel Oratorio Society in performances of major oratorios, Opera@Augustana, and Ballet Quad Cities.  Our first program this year is on Saturday, October 15 at 8:00PM in Centennial Hall.  The program features faculty soloist Dr. Mary Neil performing Sergei Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2.  In December, we collaborate with the choirs at Augustana in our fourth annual Christmas at Augustana.  February, the orchestra presents an all Mozart program.  Deborah Dakin (viola) is the soloist in Mozart's Clarinet (viola) Concerto.  The orchestra begins the program with Overture to the The Magic Flute.  The Prague Symphony is featured.  In April, the orchestra introduces our new harp instructor, Erin Freund, in Alberto Ginastera's Harp Concerto.  Music of Debussy and Satie is featured.

We would be delighted if you could come to these concerts.  All rehearsals are open and we welcome visitors.  We rehearse Monday and Thursday evenings from 7:30 to 9:30pm. 

Auditions
Auditions are held each fall during the first week of classes.  Students who audition should prepare a piece of their choosing, and be prepared to sight-read from the standard repertory.

Contacts
You are welcome to contact any of the following people for more information about the Orchestra and String Programs:
Daniel Culver, Director of Augustana Orchestra danielculver@augustana.edu
Susan Stone, violin susanstone@augustana.edu
Deborah Dakin, viola/violin deborahdakin@augustana.edu
Dortha Dewit, violin dorthadewit@augustana.edu
Janina Ehrlich, cello janinaehrlich@augustana.edu
Patricia Aparecida da Silva, Double Bass patriciasilva@augustana.edu
Erin Freund, harp erinfreund@augustana.edu