Augustana College printing logo

2014 Symphonic Band Tour

The Augustana Symphonic Band, under the direction of Dr. James Lambrecht, will tour Japan in February and March of 2014. The band was established in 1874, making it the college's oldest musical organization. See below for the tour itinerary, program and promotional information.

Check out the band's Facebook page


Date Location Activity
Friday, Feb. 21 Depart Chicago for Osaka
Saturday, Feb. 22 Osaka Arrive Osaka
Sunday, Feb. 23 Osaka Public Concert at Kinki University, November Hall, 1:30 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 24 Osaka Leisure time, Osaka city tour
Tuesday, Feb. 25 Osaka-Kyoto Leisure time, Exchange concert with Waseda Setsuryo HS, Travel to Kyoto
Wednesday, Feb. 26 Kyoto City tour of Kyoto, Leisure time
Thursday, Feb. 27 Kyoto-Hakone Bullet train to Hakone, Lake Ashi cruise, Ropeway, Ryokan stay
Friday, Feb. 28 Hakone-Tokyo Depart for Tokyo, Tokyo sightseeing
Saturday, March 1 Toyko Public Concert with Chuo University at Minami Osawa Concert Hall, 5 p.m.
Sunday, March 2 Toyko Leisure time in Tokyo
Monday, March 3 Tokyo Exchange concert with Kunitachi College of Music
Tuesday, March 4 NRT-ORD Leisure time in Tokyo, Depart for airport and arrive in Chicago
Saturday, March 15 Augustana Home Concert at Centennial Hall, 8 p.m.


Fireworks, Op. 4 (1908), IGOR STRAVINSKY [1882-1971], transcribed by R. Mark Rogers

The Seal Lullaby (2011), ERIC WHITACRE [born 1970]

Aegina and Bacchanalia, from Spartacus (1956), ARAM KHACHATURIAN [1903-78], arranged by Leslie W. Hicken

Symphony No. IV: Bookmarks from Japan (2013), JULIE GIROUX [born 1961]

Fuji-san - Mt. Fuji
Nihonbashi - Bridge Market
The Great Wave off Kanagawa - The Life of One Wave
Kinryu-zan Sensōji - Thunder Gate
Evening Snow at Kambara - Light is the Touch
Hakone - Drifting

Dance of the Jesters, from The Snow Maiden (1868), PETER I. TCHAIKOVSKY [1840-93], transcribed by Ray E. Cramer


The Sun Will Rise Again (2011), PHILIP SPARKE [born 1951]

First Suite in E-flat, Op. 28 No. 1 (1909), GUSTAV HOLST [1874-1934]        


Hands Across the Sea (1899), JOHN PHILIP SOUSA [1854-1932], arranged by Keith Brion and Loras Schissel

The Stars and Stripes Forever (1897), JOHN PHILIP SOUSA, arranged by Keith Brion and Loras Schissel  

Promotional Materials

Photos (click for high-resolution images):