This week in brief

Monday, March 24
No events scheduled

Tuesday, March 25
No Reflections

8:00 PM Faculty and Guest Recital
Wallenberg Hall
Sangeetha Rayapati, voice; and Rebecca Turner, guest vocal artist

Wednesday, March 26
3:30 – 5:00 PM – Free Workshop for “From Parchment to Pixels: The Year of the Book”
Art Museum, Centennial Hall

4:00 – 5:00 PM – Walk-in Hours in the Dean's Office with Jeff
Academic Affairs Office, 116 Founders Hall

Thursday, March 27
10:30 – 11:20 AM – Convocation – “Stereotyping and Prejudice” – Dr. Steven Stroessner
Centennial Hall

Friday, March 28
3:30 – 5:00 PM – Year of the Book “Book Studies” Lecture Series/ Friday Conversations
Tredway Library, 2 nd floor, south end
Dr. Jon Hurty, Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities

8:00 PM Faculty & Guest Recital
Wallenberg Hall
Brian Vlasak, composer; Regina Cole, saxophone; Yasmin Flores, clarinet

Saturday, March 29
4:30 PM – Student Recital – Flute Quartet
Wallenberg Hall
Christie Morton, Robin Asay, Beth Trudelle, Elise Croner

8:00 PM – Student Recital – Heather Lofdahl
Wallenberg Hall

8:00 PM – Seth Meyers
Centennial Hall

Sunday, March 30
10:30 – 11:30 AM
– Sunday Morning Worship
Ascension Chapel – Founders Hall 

5:00 – 6:00 PM – Sunday Catholic Mass
Ascension Chapel – Founders Hall 

7:00 PM – Celebrating Women in the Arts
Wallenberg Hall

Volume 5, Issue 23• March 24, 2008


**Mark your calendars for the Fall Faculty Retreat to be held August 18-19, 2008.

Call for Jaeke Award Nominations
It is once again time for the Harold T. and Violet M. Jaeke 2007-2008 Award nominations. Nominations must be received in Dean Abernathy's office no later than 4:30 p.m. Friday, April 11, 2008 – NO exceptions! Hand deliver nominations to our office, 116 Founders, if the deadline is near. We hope to be able to consider all nominations but will not accept any after the above deadline.

To fully and fairly consider each nominee, the Jaeke Committee asks that you complete the nomination form. A letter of nomination will not be reviewed. The Committee also will not consider group/collaborative nominations (one nomination form with multiple signatures). Each recommendation requires a separate nomination form. You can access a nomination form here.

Please take time to recognize the hard work of your fellow workers! If you have any questions, please call Mary Koski at extension 7328.

Announcing Tredway Library's Edible Book Festival! Make an edible creation representing a favorite book and bring it to the Library's lobby on Tuesday, April 1st, by 2:00 p.m. If possible, bring the book that inspired your culinary concoction! All entries must be made out of food and have something to do with books. Voting commences at 2:00; judging held at 4:00; winners announced at 4:30. Our four distinguished judges are President & Mrs. Bahls, Professor Megan Quinn and student Aaron Schroeder. All students, faculty and staff are invited to participate. Prizes include a $50 gift card to Borders and $25 at the College Bookstore. For more information, contact

Selected paragraphs from “The Lost Art of Letter Writing”, Jan Keessen's class at Holden Village, are posted as a major feature on the homepage of Holden Village . Read the selections here.