This week in brief

Monday, March 17
No events scheduled

Tuesday, March 18
11:30 – 11:50 AM – Reflections – Scott Irelan, Theater Arts
Ascension Chapel – Founders Hall

8:00 PM – St. Patrick's Day Concert
Wallenberg Hall

Wednesday, March 19
10:30 – 11:30 AM – Walk-in Hour
in the Dean's Office with Jeff
Founders Hall 116

4:00 – 5:00 PM – Reading Group:
Feminism and Composition
Reading / Writing Center

4:00 – 5:30 PM – Masterclass–
Bergendoff Building of Fine Arts

8:00 PM – Guest Artist – ProBono
Rescheduled from Feb.6
Wallenburg Hall

Thursday, March 20
10:30 – 11:20 AM – Convocation –
"The Culture War Thesis" –
James Hunter
Centennial Hall

Friday, March 21
No events scheduled

Saturday, March 22
No events scheduled

Sunday, March 23
10:30 – 11:30 AM – Sunday
Morning Worship
Ascension Chapel
Founders Hall

5:00 – 6:00 PM – Sunday
Catholic Mass
Ascension Chapel
Founders Hall



Volume 5, Issue 22• March 17, 2008


The Business Office reminds all department chairs that budget requests for 2008-09
were due Monday, March 10.

Revenue and Goods and Services: Darlene Link
Salary and Benefits: Mary Doonan

Nominations for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering are due April 22, 2008. This program seeks to identify outstanding mentoring efforts that have enhanced the participation of groups that are underrepresented in science, mathematics and engineering. The White House established the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM) program in 1995. The program recognizes the importance of role models and mentors in the academic and personal development of students who are underrepresented in these fields. PAESMEM recipients include outstanding individual mentors and outstanding mentoring programs.

Awards are made in the following two categories and nominees – both individual and institutional – must have served as a mentor or facilitated mentoring activities for at least five years.

Awardees receive $10,000 to continue their work and a commemorative Presidential certificate. Each recipient is invited to Washington, D.C. for an awards ceremony and recognition events. For more information click here. For assistance, contact David L. Temple at 703-292-4674; by email, by clicking here.

The registration deadline for the third Midwest Faculty Seminar of the academic year: Mind, Brain and World: On Embodied Cognition is Monday, March 24, 2008. This conference will bring together researchers of language, learning, motor skills, and perception to explore the emerging field of embodied cognition, and imagine how its work can be useful to scholars across the academy. Presenters will include Sian Beilock (Psychology), William Wimsatt (Philosophy), Nicholas Hatsopoulos (Organismal Biology and Anatomy), and Lawrence Zbikowski (Music). The conference will be held April 24-26 at the University of Chicago. A registration form can be found at the following here .

HERI/Augustana Faculty Survey is Open – Please Participate

If you are a faculty member, please be sure to participate in the faculty survey that is currently in progress. You should have received an email invitation recently. The survey is conducted as a national survey by the Higher Education Research Institute and will give us important information on faculty attitudes, job satisfaction, and professional activities. A broad participation is needed to ensure our results are valid when we compare them to national data. Augustana has also added a number of questions relating to issues of Augustana specific concern, and you will want your opinion included.

Contact Tim Schermer for more information.


The Faculty Research Committee

solicits proposals for

Sabbatical Leave Grants and Summer Research Stipends

Nature of these research grants (Highlights are below…see Faculty Handbook for details):



Guidelines and selection process of the proposals (Highlights are below…see Faculty Handbook for details):

1) Five page maximum proposal with itemized budget

2) Proposal must include:

3) Criteria used by committee to rate proposals: eligibility, clarity of presentation, appropriate budget prediction, prospects for publication or public attention, applicant’s qualifications

4) Expectation for funded work:

Please send your proposal by e-mail attachment if at all possible (otherwise six hard copies) by 5:00 PM on 25 March 2008 to Mary Koski in the Dean’s Office. Date of award announcements: 4 April 2008. Direct any questions about this to any member of the committee: Wendy Hilton-Morrow, Dell Jensen, Mariano Magalhaes, Jamie Nelson, Jeanneth Vazquez, or Craig VanSandt.

At Tredway Library

Stop by the south end of the 2 nd floor of the library this Wednesday, March 19 th to view a display observing the 5 th anniversary of the Iraq War. All are encouraged to wear white as a sign of unity in support for peace that day as well.