Augustana College printing logo

Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture

The inspiration for Peace Cloth, a tapestry by Professor of Art Rowen Schussheim-Anderson, came from flags, prayer shawls and woven cloths from diverse culture groups.

The Stone Lectureship in Judaism

The Stone Lectureship in Judaism was established in 1983 by family and friends of Dr. and Mrs. Alex B. Stone. The purpose of the endowment is to provide a yearly lecture and an expanded program in Judaic studies at Augustana College.

Geifman Endowment in Judaica

The Geifman Endowment in Judaica was established in 1992 by late Rock Island residents Gerry and Morris M. Geifman. Through their generosity, Augustana College offers a juried student competition titled "A Response to the Holocaust" and co-sponsors a yearly guest lecture in Judaic Studies and Culture.

Funded by the endowment, Augustana's Tredway Library maintains a large, growing collection of materials related to Jewish culture and the Holocaust. In cooperation with the Jewish Federation of the Quad Cities, the Geifman fund supports the yearly Yom Hashoah observation by sponsoring the service's guest speaker on campus.

Geifman Prize in Holocaust Studies

Supported by the Geifman Endowment, the Geifman Prize in Holocaust Studies is an annual student competition with awards up to $500. A submission may take the form of an essay, research paper, poem, drama, film, artwork, musical composition, or other creative expression. Depending upon the format, submissions will be evaluated according to depth of research, scholarly writing style, and creativity.

The Augustana Honor Code guidelines apply to all submissions.

Faculty members of The Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture serve as adjudicators.

Katherine Ludwig, a first-year student, won the 2016 Geifman Prize for her essay, "The Scapegoat." The essay discusses the treatment of Jews in Europe around the time of the Holocaust and what may have motivated this treatment.

Past winners of the Geifman Prize

For more information, contact Dr. Janina Ehrlich, music department.

Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture committee

Janina Ehrlich (chair), professor of music
Rowen Schussheim-Anderson, professor of art
David Ellis, associate professor of history
Doug Parvin, associate professor of philosophy
Chris Strunk, associate professor of geography
Mike Wolf, professor of geology