Monday, January 7

3:30 - 4:30 PM - Education Department Candidate Presentation-Mike Scarlett
Evald 212

4:00 - 5:00 PM - Discussion on Public Health study at Augustana
Wilson Center

Tuesday, January 8

11:30 - 11:50 AM - Tuesday Reflection - Matt Mordini, '13
Ascension Chapel, Founders Hall, 2nd floor

1:00 PM - Dealing with the Press Workshop
Board Room, College Center, 3rd floor

8:00 PM - Faculty Recital: Randall Hall
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

8:00 - 9:00 PM - The Salon
Kelly Murphy (Religion) speaks about "Misconceptions About the Bible...and do they Matter?"
Andreen Hall, Red Room


Wednesday, January 9

7:00 - 9:30 PM - 18th Annual Hispanic Film Festival: "Biutiful"
Rated R. Free of Charge
102 Hanson Hall of Science

12:00 - 12:50 PM - Weekly Bible Study for Faculty, Staff, Administrators
"Soul Centering Through Nature" - Bring a Bible if you can. Bring your lunch if you wish.
Chicago Room, College Center

3:00 - 4:00 PM - Blue  and Gold Certification Workshop: Beginning Word
RSPV to Wendy Ramsdale x8092
Olin 109

4:00 - 5:00 PM - Faculty Senate Meeting
John Deere Lecture Hall

5:00 - 6:00 PM - Deans' Meeting with Department & Program Chairs
Wilson Center

6:00 - 7:00 PM - "American Identity in the Inaugural Address" presented by Steve Klien. The public inauguration of Barack Obama as the 44th president of the United States will take place January 21st.
Rock Island Public Library, 401 19th Street, Rock Island, IL

Thursday, January 10

9:00 - 10:00 AM - Coffee and Conversation
Community Engagement Center

9:30 - 10:30 AM - Blue and Gold Certification Workshop: Beginning Word
RSPV to Wendy Ramsdale x8092
Olin 105

3:30 - 4:30 PM - Education Department Candidate Presentation-Jennifer Cutsforth
Evald 217

7:00 PM - 12th Annual Augustana French Film Festival - "The Artist"
Free admission
Olin Auditorium

Friday, January 11

4:00 PM - Friday Conversation, presented by Steven Bahls
3:30 PM - Refreshments
Wilson Center

8:00 PM - Faculty Recital: Dortha DeWit, Susan Schwaegler, and Mary Neil
A joint faculty recital on flute, oboe and piano
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

Saturday, January 12

1:30 - 2:45 PM - Exhibition Tour of Art Museum: Relating Music and Visual Art through the AGES
Art Museum, Centennial Hall

Sunday, January 13

4:00 PM - Faculty Recital: Janina Ehrlich, cello, and Charles Schmidt, piano
Recital will include "Klexmer Rhapsody" by Ilya Levinson, "Tanzlied des Pierrot" by Erich Korngold, "Serenade," Op.3, by Josef Suk and "Sonata in A Minor for Cello and Piano" by Alexander Zemlinsky
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

Volume 10, Issue 17 - January 7, 2013

Important Dates

2012-2013 IMPORTANT DATES
Convocation Symposia Days
9:00 - 4:00


Wednesday, January 23, 2013
Tuesday, April 9, 2013      

Deans' Meeting with Department & Program Chairs
5:00 - 6:00 PM
Wilson Center

Thursday, January 10, 2013  Wednesday, January 17, 2013
Thursday, February 14, 2013
Thursday, March 21, 2013
Thursday, April 18, 2013
Thursday, May 16, 2013

Faculty Senate Meetings
4:00 - 5:00 PM
John Deere Lecture Hall

Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Friday, February 1, 2013 - Olin Auditorium
   (this will be a Faculty Meeting perhaps with Senate business)
Monday, March 18, 2013
Wednesday, April 10, 2013
Friday, May 3, 2013

Full-Faculty Meetings
Olin Auditorium



Friday, February 1, 2013                 
4:00 - 5:00
Thursday, April 25, 2013                
4:30 - 5:30

Division Meetings

Fine & Performing Arts

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Bergendoff 12

Thurs. January 17, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Bergendoff 12

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Bergendoff 12

Language & Literature

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Olin 305

Thurs. January 17, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Olin 307

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Olin 110

Natural Science

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Hanson Science 402

Thurs. January 17, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Hanson Science 102

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Hanson Science 102

Business & Education

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 315

Thurs. January 17, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 315

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 315

History, Philosophy & Religion

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Sorensen 327

Thurs. January 17, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Sorensen 327

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Sorensen 255

Social Science

Thurs. October 4, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 21

Thurs. December 13, 2012

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 21

Thurs. April 4, 2013

4:30-5:30 PM

Evald 21

LSFY Meetings
Wilson Center
4:00 - 5:00 PM


Monday, January 21, 2013 
Monday, March 25, 2013 
Monday, May 6, 2013 - Evald Great Hall
      (Augie Reads Kickoff)

Educational Policies Committee
Tuesdays          
4:30 - 5:30        
Founders Hall Basement

General Education Committee
Wednesdays                                  
4:00 - 5:00                                    
Evald 305

Celebration of Faculty Scholarship
Monday, February 18, 2013
12:30 - 4:00 PM 

Celebration of Learning
Saturday, May 4, 2013                    
9:30 - 2:00                                    
Hanson Science

Recognition of Student Honors Program (for underclassmen)
Saturday, May 4, 2013                    
11:30 - 12:00                                 
Hanson Science 102

Augie Reads Kickoff
Monday, May 6, 2013                     
4:00 - 5:00
Evald Great Hall

Senior Honors Convocation
Saturday, May 18, 2013                  
12:00 - 1:00                                   
Centennial Hall

Baccaulaureate Service
Sunday, May 19, 2013                   
10:00                                             
Centennial Hall

152nd  Annual Commencement Convocation Ceremony
Sunday, May 19, 2013                    
3:00 PM                                        
iWireless Center